magazine plus one (1) round in the chamber. Should division
capacity not be achievable because of lower magazine
capacity, load to maximum mechanical capacity of magazine
plus one (1) round in the chamber. Competitors must use the
same capacity magazines through out the competition
(Example: if you start with a 9 round magazine, you must use
that capacity magazine throughout the match).
The rule initially distinguishes between "division capacity" (the number of rounds allowed per division rules and "mechanical capacity" (the actual number of rounds the mags can hold)
The rule then say one must use "the same capacity magazine" but doesn't specify which capacity it refers to; division or mechanical.
While the hypothetical given anticipates someone using a lesser capacity mag so that people don't use it as it suits them to hit slide lock at a convenient time, it doesn't go into if the mechanical capacity is higher. So, for example, on a Sig P226 in 40, if the competitor had a 12rd factory mag, and 13rd MecGar, would he be breaking the rule, even though division capacity for both (10 rounds) is the same?
Common sense would say it should be fine, as no competitive advantage is gained, but rules and common sense don't always happily coexist.
Edited by Racer377, 30 May 2012 - 11:19 AM.