8 replies to this topic

#1 mwwilkew

mwwilkew

Looks for Range

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 August 2011 - 02:20 PM

I've been reloading for a few months now and have stayed within the published minimum and maximum powder weights while reloading 9mm and .40 on a 550B. The reason for staying below the maximum is obvious, but what about the minimum? Is there any problem going below the recommended minimums if I'm targeting a specific velocity or power factor? What are the consequences other than the bullet not exiting the barrel for a really low charge...lost accuracy, failure to cycle the slide? Thanks for your help.

#2 chirpy

chirpy

Beyond it All

• Classifieds
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,461 posts

Posted 21 August 2011 - 02:43 PM

Getting a bullet stuck in the barrel is a pain and sometimes next to impossible to get out! It is also dangerious if you are not aware of it!!!!!!! Downloading to certain vel/PF can be accomplished with different powder/s usually.

There are powders that you do not, under any circumstances, want to go under listed but there is usually a note stating such, WW296 being one example. I would suggest you contact the mfg. of your powder(s) to be safe. Try wwpowders.com/ for one and this will take you to Hodgdon (WW parent Co.) and IMR. From there you should be able to find a "Contact US" address. Loading manuals should have this info also.

Good luck and stay safe.

Richard

Edited by chirpy, 21 August 2011 - 02:47 PM.

#3 GrumpyOne

GrumpyOne

Soha ne feledje, hogy szar, itt jön a Mongo!

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,815 posts

Posted 21 August 2011 - 02:45 PM